Current Officers and Directors

William E. “Bill” Bartelt is a Lincoln historian and author focusing primarily on Lincoln’s youth in Indiana. He is the author or editor of books, articles, and numerous historical reports on Lincoln’s life, including There I Grew Up: Remembering Abraham Lincoln’s Indiana Youth (2008) and Abe’s Youth: Shaping the Future President (2019). For many years Bartelt worked as a ranger and historian at the Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial. In addition to his work on the ALA board of directors, he serves on the board of the Lincoln Forum and the Indiana Historical Society, and received the Indiana Historical Society’s “Hoosier Historian” award in 2003.

Michael Burlingame is the Chancellor Naomi B. Lynn Distinguished Chair in Lincoln Studies at the University of Illinois at Springfield. He served as a research assistant at Princeton University for the eminent Lincolnian David Herbert Donald and then received a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. In 1968 he joined the History Department at Connecticut College in New London, where he taught until retiring in 2001. He joined the faculty of the University of Illinois at Springfield in 2009. Prof. Burlingame has edited over a dozen volumes of Lincoln primary source materials. He is also the author of The Inner World of Abraham Lincoln (1994) and the two-volume Abraham Lincoln: A Life (2008). The latter won the 2010 Lincoln Prize, was a co-winner of the annual book prize awarded by the Abraham Lincoln Institute, and won the Russell P. Strange Book Award given annually by the Illinois State Historical Society for the best book on Illinois history. Burlingame has received the Abraham Lincoln Association Book Prize (1996), the Lincoln Diploma of Honor from Lincoln Memorial University (1998), Honorable Mention for the Lincoln Prize, Gettsyburg College (2001), and was inducted into the Lincoln Academy of Illinois in 2009.

Joshua A. Claybourn is an attorney and historian focusing primarily on Abraham Lincoln’s youth. He is the author or editor of several books, including Abe’s Youth: Shaping the Future President. In addition to the ALA, he serves on the board of the Abraham Lincoln Institute and frequently offers presentations on Abraham Lincoln and the American Civil War. Claybourn’s legal practice focuses on intellectual property, government, and commercial transactions. Visit him online at

James M. Cornelius, Ph.D. is the Curator of the Lincoln Collection at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum in Springfield, Illinois. He serves as editor of the Journal of the Abraham Lincoln Association. Previsouly he served as a librarian in the Illinois Historical Survey and Lincoln Room of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library.

Dr. Allen C. Guelzo is the Senior Research Scholar in the Council of the Humanities and Director of the Initiative on Politics and Statesmanship in the James Madison Program at Princeton University. He holds an M.A. and a Ph.D. in History from the University of Pennsylvania. Professor Guelzo is the author of numerous books on American intellectual history, Abraham Lincoln, and the Civil War era. His publication awards include the Lincoln Prize as well as the Abraham Lincoln Institute Prize for two of his books-Abraham Lincoln: Redeemer President and Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation: The End of Slavery in America–making him the first double Lincoln laureate in the history of both prizes. His critically acclaimed book, Lincoln and Douglas: The Debates that Defined America, was published by Simon & Schuster in 2008. Professor Guelzo has written for The American Historical ReviewThe Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal, and he has been featured on NPR’s Weekend Edition Sunday, C-SPAN’s Booknotes, and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Among garnering other honors, he has received the Medal of Honor from the Daughters of the American Revolution. He is a member of the National Council on the Humanities.

Kathryn M. Harris is the first woman and the first African American to serve as president of the ALA since its inception in 1909. Harris retired in 2015 as the Library Services Director/Director of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library. Harris has held many leadership roles with history organizations, including as board member of the Illinois Library Association and the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) and president of the Sangamon County Historical Society. She’s received many awards for her contributions, including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Illinois State Historical Society and a Paul Harris Fellow of the Springfield Rotary Club. Harris presents one woman shows of four historic 19th century African American Women to school children, civic, church and social groups, but her favorite character is Harriet Tubman.

Anne E. Moseley is director of the Lincoln Heritage Museum at Lincoln College. She previously served as the assistant director and curator of that museum and worked as a researcher and tour guide for the Old State Capital in Springfield. A frequent author and presenter on Abraham Lincoln, Moseley was awarded the Illinois State Historical Society’s Malkovich Award for Young Museum Professional in 2015. She is certified by the National Association for Interpretation (NAI) as a Certified Interpretive Trainer (CIT). In addition to her work on the ALA board, Moseley is a member of the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area Steering Council, National Association for Interpretation Region 5, and the Abraham Lincoln Center for Character Development.

Jonathan W. White is associate professor of American Studies at Christopher Newport University. He is author or editor of nine books and more than one hundred articles, essays and reviews about the Civil War. His earlier book, Emancipation, the Union Army, and the Reelection of Abraham Lincoln, was named a best book of 2014 by Civil War Monitor, was a finalist for both the Gilder-Lehrman Lincoln Prize and the Jefferson Davis Prize, and won the Abraham Lincoln Institute’s 2015 book prize. Midnight in America: Darkness, Sleep, and Dreams during the Civil War was named a best book of 2017 by Civil War Monitor. His most recent book, “Our Little Monitor”: The Greatest Invention of the Civil War, co-authored with Anna Gibson Holloway, was a finalist for the Indie Book Awards and honorable mention for the John Lyman Book Award. He is a Distinguished Lecturer for the Organization of American Historians, and serves on the Boards of Directors of the Abraham Lincoln Institute, the ALA, and the Lincoln Forum. He also serves on the Board of Advisors of the John L. Nau III Center for Civil War History at the University of Virginia, the Ford’s Theatre Advisory Council, and the editorial board of the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography. Visit him online at

Bob Willard, past president of the ALA and former President of the Abraham Lincoln Institute, is a retired government and industry professional with experience in both market management and information policy advocacy and with a comprehensive knowledge of the application of information technology to public needs. Willard is a long-time collector of books and other material about Abraham Lincoln, and has advised agencies involved in digitization of Lincoln material.

Kay Smith

Executive Manager

Mary Shepherd

Membership Coordinator

Honorary Directors

President Joe Biden
Governor JB Pritzker
Senator Richard Durbin
Senator Tammy Duckworth
Congressman Darin LaHood
Congresswoman Mary Miller
Congressman Rodney Davis
Chief Justice Anne M. Burke
Mayor James Langfelder

Emeritus Directors

Cullom Davis
Judge Richard Mills
N. Ronald Thunman

Distinguished Directors

Doris Kearns Goodwin
Lewis E. Lehrman
Thomas F. Schwartz
Wayne C. Temple